Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Maintenance & Cleaning
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 6/2/2022 12:17:02 PM EDT
What’s the best method for cleaning barrels? Bore snake? Multi piece cleaning rods? Cleaning cable? Just curious what everyone is using. I’ve read how bore snakes can get stuck if the string breaks and I’ve seen people complain about possible damage to rifling when using a cleaning rod and it flexes. I’m pretty new to ARs and there’s a ton of information out there.
Link Posted: 6/1/2022 1:22:20 PM EDT
[#1]
depends on what you are wanting out of your barrel? i am no precision rifle shooter. my bolt action rifles for hunting i just run some patches of clp down the barrel a few times. Mainly when i store them and know they won't be shot for awhile.
same with my AR barrels. i don't clean the barrel often, just a few patches of CLP.

i don't like bore snakes as they use brass brushes and i just don't want that down my barrel

for me this has worked well.
Link Posted: 6/1/2022 1:32:52 PM EDT
[#2]
Link Posted: 6/1/2022 1:36:41 PM EDT
[#3]
CLP on patch a few times and then a couple dry patches. Don't over think it, stick with CLP or a gun oil. No reason to reinvent the wheel
Link Posted: 6/1/2022 2:00:18 PM EDT
[#4]
Most gun owners cause more damage to their rifles by excessive cleaning than they do actually shooting them.
Link Posted: 6/1/2022 2:01:34 PM EDT
[#5]
I send a wet patch down the barrel. Give it a few minutes or so and then send a brush down a few times. Then a few dry patches. If it's really dirty I'll do it again. Then I spray in clp and let it run down the barrel and sit for a few minutes. I'll use a couple q-tips to clean up around the locking lugs and chamber and then I push a couple patches through the barrel. I use a chamber brush from time to time but it usually isn't needed.