Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Build It Yourself
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 11/10/2018 11:45:10 AM EDT
This will be my first AR. My main use for this will be killing the coons and coyotes that inevitably go after my chickens. The coop is about 100-120 yards depending on where I stand. As a secondary note I'm hoping to throw a different upper on it for a hog hunt next year. I have very little knowledge with this stuff and gained the vast majority of my information from the internet, so if I should use a different part please let me know.

M4E1 Stripped lower
Gisselle AR15 Mil-spec lower parts kit
Gisselle SSA-E (I already was given this part)
JP Enterprises AR-15 Low mass Bolt Carrier Assembly (The wife is recoil shy so I figure a little extra money spent here might be worth it as she does like going to the range with me.)

Aero Precision AR-15 stripped upper receiver
Superlative Arms Adjustable gas block
Vltor IMOD Modstock
Giselle rail ( I would definitely like more suggestions for rails)
Barrel? Ive seen a lot of people suggest Krieger Barrels But I feel like this might be overkill especially for a first AR. I could really use suggestions here.
Raptor-LT Ambidextrous Charging Handle (I was given this already)
Link Posted: 11/10/2018 11:50:33 AM EDT
[#1]
For small game, id go with 1:12 barrel and use some varmint loads 49-50 gr ammo.
Link Posted: 11/10/2018 11:52:24 AM EDT
[#2]
After 8 rifles and thousands of dollars chasing gimmicks and trendy parts my advice is.

Buy the cheapest m4 ish you can find.

Shoot it

Then start a personalized build.
Link Posted: 11/10/2018 12:02:23 PM EDT
[#3]
Given your base platform, why not go with an aero complete upper (m4e1 or atlas r1)? BA barrels are gtg.  High value, rigid, accurate, durable, reliable.
Link Posted: 11/10/2018 12:33:20 PM EDT
[#4]
Some suggestions: