Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Maintenance & Cleaning
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 2/25/2023 1:16:44 PM EDT
I'm pretty new to the AR platform. I just recently bought an AR build (used parts). Everything works great, I just noticed some pretty heavy copper build up at the end of the barrel. It's so thick, a q tip won't get it. It's hardened.
1. Will a brass brush ruin the crowning?
2. Do I even need to clean it off? I'm not trying to sharp shoot with this thing but (of course) I do want decent accuracy inside 100 yards.
Link Posted: 2/25/2023 1:50:01 PM EDT
[#1]
I use Hoppes #9 for copper fouling along with plastic brush and copious amounts of elbow grease. In for info on other methods.
Link Posted: 2/25/2023 7:17:55 PM EDT
[#2]
Normal bore cleaning clears the crown where the bullet contacts.
Link Posted: 2/25/2023 9:05:32 PM EDT
[Last Edit: BSOL] [#3]
My choice for cleaning copper. I prefer Boretech’s entire line for all my cleaning.

Link Posted: 2/25/2023 9:11:03 PM EDT
[Last Edit: DayandNight1701] [#4]
From my experience, only a specific copper removing cleaner actually removes copper.  

I use "Shooters Choice" copper cleaner.  Works fantastic.   Run a patched soaked with the cleaner through the bore.  

Let it sit per the instructions, then clean out with solvent and patch dry.  I assume on the crown, dab it with a q-tip and copper cleaner.

Before:

After:
Link Posted: 2/26/2023 1:24:21 AM EDT
[Last Edit: jasonm4] [#5]
Welcome to the site and the AR platform Op, it gets addicting and there's a ton on info out there. I highly recommend checking out some videos on general cleaning and lubing of the AR. Mr guns and gear and Iraq Veteran 8888 are two guys I know that have some good videos on that. Keep your rifle lubed up and it'll run a long time with general periodic cleaning. Tell me more about your build you got, like what kind of barrel?