Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Lights and Lasers
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 5/26/2022 9:18:53 AM EDT
So, I have a 16" 5.56 upper finished and a 8.5" 300blk upper finished that both need lights. I'm completely new to WML but have done some light research (pun intended ).
I don't want to spend ~$300 on each setup. I'd like to stick to under $150 each. I've looked into some of the market leaders such as Cloud Defensive, Modlite, and Surefire but they're all too spendy. I've seen that some people "frankenstein" their WML with different brand bodies, heads, tail caps and switches which I'm not against if the price is right. Ex. Streamlight ProTac Rail Mount HL-X with Arisaka Tailcap Adapter and Modbutton Lite but that's ~$250+ too.

I don't know if I will top rail mount or 45* offset M-LOK mount the lights yet and the pressure switches (suggestions appreciated). I haven't looked into the pressure switches much yet but I like the aesthetic of the Modbutton and maybe even the Unity Hot Button. How do those compare to the longer pressure switches such as the Streamlight OEM or Surefire offerings?

I'd like the setups to be fairly lightweight but my research has found that most complete kits are between the 6-8oz range anyway. Not sure how to save weight there. Dual powered seems like a good benefit but I also like the compact models like the REIN Mini's aesthetic. Any practical difference between a 18650/CR123A vs 18350 powered models?

My POU of the 8.5" 300BLK is home defense indoors, subs only, suppressed 100% of the time.
My POU of the 16" is as a training rifle, plinking/target shooting,"RECCE"/"Truck gun", suppressed a vast majority of the time.

I've found a few that I'm interested in as well as being closer to my budge but unsure of:
1. Streamlight ProTac Rail Mount 2 - $120
2. Streamlight ProTac Rail Mount HL-X - $130
3. Arisaka 300, SureFire UE, Modlite Modbutton Lite, Arisaka Inline - $336+