Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Troubleshooting
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 10/26/2018 3:13:02 PM EDT
I am very new to the building ar 15 world. All I’ve done so far is pull and change barrels on the two rifles I own. I decided recently to start a first build on an Anderson stripped lower that I had purchased about a year ago. I am going for (or was going for) a c7a2 configured rifle. Since the c7a2 uses a car 15 style of buttstock I found and purchased a similar stock from Tony’s custom LLC for $50. At the time I thought it was a good buy. For those who are wondering I used a bone standard Palmetto State Arsenal lower parts kit which for the price I payed I have no complaints and my experience with PSA has been very good with the a2 rifle I own from them. When I got the stock I went to install the buffer tube as I had seen many times on YouTube. But when I torqued down the castle nut, the buffer tube began to twist very noticeably. It caused the stock to cant atleast 10-15 degrees. My ocd went nuts so I took it off and noticed that the end plate was loose in the locking notch and that one section of the threading had been sheered by the locking tab on the plate. My question is, am I doing something wrong or should I get a better part like what I’ve seen from troys replica GAU 5 or from Fulton Armory?
Link Posted: 10/26/2018 3:40:06 PM EDT
[#1]
Sounds like soft metal. I use mostly bcm tubes and have never had that issue. The end plate should keep it centered. Doesnt sound like an install issue from your post
Link Posted: 10/26/2018 4:34:13 PM EDT
[#2]
I will tighten the castle nut snug and twist the buffer tube a bit cocked so it straightens when the final tightening of the nut happens. It may take a few tries to get the nut tight with the tube centered.
The end plate does not always align the tube for you.
Link Posted: 11/1/2018 9:54:11 PM EDT
[#3]