Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Troubleshooting
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 4/10/2023 11:33:43 PM EDT
First and foremost, I'm a gunsmith (not gomsmif) by trade and generally know what I'm doing. Secondly, I use good jigging to assemble items correctly, so hopefully that gives you an idea of perspective here.

Ordered two of these, directly from PA, brand new this past week and today I assembled a rifle using one and a YHM gas block, jigged it up and pushed the roll pin in with my knipex, then put the gas block on my rifle. First glance and I notice the gas tube is bent at least 1" off center, so I'm alarmed and wondering if I did anything somehow or if it was like that when I received it because I've never seen a gas tube that was so bent from the box. Upon further inspection and prodding, I discovered that neither gas tubes are tempered or treated and so soft that you can bend them between two fingers on one hand.

I assume this was a fault of their OEM, but either way the batch they came from is definitely bad. Never in my years have I seen a gas tube this poorly made, and I've seen a few pretty terrible ones.

I do have pictures

Pictured was done with extreme ease, hahaha.
Link Posted: 4/11/2023 12:06:20 AM EDT
[#1]
That's a damn shame...

Thanks for the heads-up.

Link Posted: 4/11/2023 5:58:31 AM EDT
[#2]
That's off a mile and a half.

Shipping damage?
Link Posted: 4/11/2023 8:15:48 AM EDT
[#3]
I've used a couple of those in the past and haven't had any issues, especially like that! Must be a bad batch.co
Link Posted: 4/11/2023 9:06:26 AM EDT
[#4]
You didn’t notice that that tube was bent to hell (the moment you picked it up) and actually got as far as trying to install it… with “good jigging” nonetheless?  

Also the spec material for AR15 gas tubes is just AISI 304 / UNS 30400.  There is no called out heat treatment/temper, so I’m not sure what you expected, there.