Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR-15 / M-16 Retro Forum
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 2/19/2020 8:15:07 PM EDT
Howdy,

Been wanting a 733 style upper for a long time. My question is are there any decent pre-built uppers that fit the bill or should I just build?

TNTE has one that looks good. I've never used anything from them before though, so I am not sure of their quality.

Anyone got any leads or should I just build one out? I reckon building one will come to about the same price.

Thanks!
Link Posted: 2/19/2020 10:36:03 PM EDT
[#1]
Beware of TNTE. Do you want authentic or clone?
Link Posted: 2/19/2020 11:01:42 PM EDT
[#2]
Quoted:
Howdy,

Been wanting a 733 style upper for a long time. My question is are there any decent pre-built uppers that fit the bill or should I just build?

TNTE has one that looks good. I've never used anything from them before though, so I am not sure of their quality.

Anyone got any leads or should I just build one out? I reckon building one will come to about the same price.

Thanks!
View Quote
Link Posted: 2/19/2020 11:22:04 PM EDT
[#3]
Why beware? Seeing conflicting reviews of TNTE everywhere.

If I could find a legit Colt 733 upper for a good price I would get it. Even if I could find something with a longer barrel length/correct type upper, have it sent off to John Thomas to cut down. I'd love a real Colt upper, couldn't really find anything out there though, unfortunately.

Otherwise a clone is fine.

Quoted:
View Quote
Yeah, priced out parts to build on Brownells and it's about $20-30 less than TNTE, sans handguards. At that point I'd rather just buy prebuilt.
Link Posted: 2/20/2020 6:10:17 PM EDT
[#4]
TNTE will charge your card the minute you give them the number and then after 90 days you will be tired of waiting and only be offered store credit and not be able to do a chargeback.Meanwhile having passed on what you really wanted.Do you want the A1 version or the A2?