BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Basics
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 2
Posted: 3/12/2022 11:05:34 PM EDT
I'm looking at diving into the world of the AR-15 for the first time.  My background is primarily utilizing handguns although I have used a bolt and lever action style rifle previously.

Goal:  Have an all around 5.56 / 2.23 platform that could be used for plinking, hunting, or even SHTF if necessary.

I've noticed multiple barrel twists options listed for the AR-15 platform. Would someone be able to check my understanding to validate I'm understanding the differences correctly?

• 1/9 twist:  Typically has increased accuracy with lower grain weight bullets.

• 1/8 twist:  Capable of decent accuracy with most grain weight bullets.

• 1/7 twist:  Typically more accurate with higher grain weight bullets, but may lose some accuracy with lower weight grain bullets.

Assuming my understanding above is correct:

So, if I'm looking for a general purpose rifle barrel, it seems I would want to be investing in at least a 1/8 twist barrel.  However, I'm noting the trend seems to be a 1/7 twist barrel.  

How much of a difference in accuracy is there really between a 1/8 vs 1/7 twist barrel?

Thank you in advance.
Link Posted: 3/12/2022 11:42:25 PM EDT
[#1]
Link Posted: 3/12/2022 11:42:59 PM EDT
[#2]
Twist rate is more about stabilizing different bullet weights. Faster twists should stabilize heavier bullets, 1/9 should be good up to 75 or 77grains depending on the specific barrel. Unless you are shooting heavy bullets, you should be fine with a 1/7, 1/8, or a 1/9 twist.

Link Posted: 3/12/2022 11:50:51 PM EDT
[#3]
Twist rates are driven by bullet length, the military uses 1:7 because the tracer rounds are longer than the standard 62 grain NATO rounds, the weight is the same but they are longer.
If you want to limit yourself to standard ball ammo a 1:9 will do fine. Now if you want to use 77 grain ammo you likely want a 1;7 twist.