Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Basics
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 3/22/2023 4:31:10 AM EDT
Sorry if this is a stupid question but I am not a weapons expert and just started shooting seriously. Recently bought some F1 62grain ammo (1,000 rounds). I specifically bought this ammo because I wanted a slightly higher grain that weren't green tip (although I'm sure the grain doesn't make that much of a difference). Anyway, I got the ammo yesterday and the casing seems to be eroded (very gray looking instead of the brass look). I shot a few rounds off, and the gun smells very gassy when pulling the charging handle back, and to add to that, the charging handle is very stiff after shooting, it was taking me a lot of force to pull the charging handle back even though I only shot off a few rounds to test the ammo out. I'm just curious if the ammo is okay to shoot? I've put some gun oil down in the gun so hopefully that will resolve the stiffness issue.
Link Posted: 3/22/2023 4:40:18 AM EDT
[#1]
If you mean they look like this, it's normal.
Attachment Attached File

Link Posted: 3/22/2023 5:28:37 AM EDT
[#2]
Yup, that's exactly how it looks. Thanks.

On the side note. Took everything apart and lubed everything up nicely and charging handle feels a lot smoother. Was probably just stiff after the first shoot because it's a new gun.
Link Posted: 3/22/2023 5:32:28 AM EDT
[#3]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
Yup, that's exactly how it looks. Thanks.

On the side note. Took everything apart and lubed everything up nicely and charging handle feels a lot smoother. Was probably just stiff after the first shoot because it's a new gun.
View Quote
Yep. The rifle will break in as you shoot it. The 5.56 ammo for the military isn't polished to make it look pretty.
Link Posted: 3/22/2023 6:38:09 AM EDT
[#4]