Posted: 5/15/2020 2:34:30 PM EDT
as their go to lubricant for their AR?
Link Posted: 5/15/2020 4:31:06 PM EDT
[#1]
It is junk.  I dumped it out.

Use Mobil 1.
Link Posted: 5/15/2020 4:46:41 PM EDT
[#2]
I’ve been using the same 8oz bottle for 12 years. Works great. Got the bottle for free from a buddy who was in the Army. Militec used to (maybe still does) send free samples to any .mil who requested it.

I also think most gun lubricants are snake oil. Frog lube, Rem Oil, Mobil1, Crisco, etc.

If it works for you, it works.
Link Posted: 5/15/2020 4:50:57 PM EDT
[#3]
FPNI, mine grew something in the bottle.
Link Posted: 5/15/2020 4:56:07 PM EDT
[#4]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Originally Posted By LastRites:
FPNI, mine grew something in the bottle.
View Quote

Same... with an old bottle that didn't seal properly.  

That's.... weird.
Link Posted: 5/15/2020 5:38:34 PM EDT
[#5]
I don't recall all the details off the top of my head, but it goes something like this.

Miltec was made to be an engine additive.  That is not a bad thing, it just didn't work and was a commercial failure.

So they started marketing it as a gun lube.  It failed military testing.

On top of that, it could cause damage to the metal.  Might have been sulfur embrittlement.  I forget, look it up.

So yea, feel free to use it on your guns, I'll keep it away from mine.
Link Posted: 5/15/2020 9:41:49 PM EDT
[#6]
Originally Posted By Postal0311:
I don't recall all the details off the top of my head, but it goes something like this.

Miltec was made to be an engine additive.  That is not a bad thing, it just didn't work and was a commercial failure.

So they started marketing it as a gun lube.  It failed military testing.

On top of that, it could cause damage to the metal.  Might have been sulfur embrittlement.  I forget, look it up.

So yea, feel free to use it on your guns, I'll keep it away from mine.
View Quote

I haven't found ANY of that information, and I've been looking.