Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Basics
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 4/15/2023 8:16:11 AM EDT
I have about 54 years experience with firearms and about 10 days experience with ARs. As I go through my learning curve, I thought I'd document some things I learn along the way. Just in case they might be helpful to others in the same boat. This isn't about big stuff like design or best ammo or anything like that. Just stuff I'm learning as I go along.

1. Test fit all accessories at the same time. Don't install one, then another, and etc. You will inevitably have to remove one or more of them when you go to fit another accessory.
2. M-LOK rocks, in my rookie opinion. Pay attention to what's on the other side of the fore end when test-fitting things. My first flashlight position wouldn't work, for example, because the gas tube was there and there wasn't enough room.
3. Try not to drop screws, nuts, Allen wrenches, and etc. inside the fore end.
4. Gun vise grips work a lot better on flat, wooden stocks than they do on irregular collapsible stocks. They still work, they just take more futzing.
5. Pay attention to fastener heads; accessory manufacturers seem to use hex and star interchangeably with no rhyme or reason.

Added:
6. A set of good tweezers comes in handy.
7. Hold off mounting accessories until a) you know you want them and b) you've studied up on how they are used, their benefits, their drawbacks, the situations in which they are useful; those in which they aren't, and etc. I installed all of mine before I learned this from the members here. And they are right. I've spent a fair bit of time removing and moving accessories.
8. Test-fit accessories and operate everything else on the rifle to make sure you know how everything else is affected. Safety, trigger, stock extension, bolt catch, whatever.
9. Don't mount your cool new optics backward and then post a pic of it, like I did.