Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AK-47 » Chinese
AK Sponsor: palmetto
Site Notices
Posted: 3/28/2020 2:05:04 AM EDT
Hello,

I'm new to the AR Forums, and have been collecting AR's, AK's, and other firearms for a few years.

Today I purchased a unique variant that I can't find much information on, and I'd like your help.

Today I bought a Polytech Legend National Match with a 16" heavy barrel with 8 Polytech Chrome Followers. Typically, the National Match versions are 20" barrels. All of the serial numbers match, and the receiver has all of the normal markings as a National Match version.

Is this a Frankenstein gun?

Link Posted: 3/28/2020 2:28:03 AM EDT
[#1]
Yes.

They only came with the longer barrel 20"

Someone cut it down after it was imported here.Not hard to do and if done correctly looks factory

You see this a lot with RPK's (aka Khyber Pass )
Link Posted: 3/28/2020 10:32:44 AM EDT
[#2]
Still, don't abuse it.
Link Posted: 3/28/2020 1:50:02 PM EDT
[#3]
It's a Polytech Legend milled receiver with a barrel that may or may not have been shortened. Just because most of the NM rifles had a longer barrel does not mean it was cut down. It is possible it was imported that way. OP does the box have the Styrofoam liner? It looks like one of the original shipping box's available on Polytech's website and a NM would probably not fit in that package. The mags alone will fetch a pretty penny if you so choose to sell.

I also need to thank you for buying that rifle and saving me from deflating my gun money stash as I was also in contact with the owner and damm near pulled the trigger.

All that said you have purchased an AK that will increase in value regardless the barrel issue. In fact it is probably a better choice for a shooter than most...just my 02.

Take it to the range with a shitload of ammo and run the hell out of it and let us know what you think.