Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 2
Posted: 7/31/2009 1:23:38 PM EDT
I clean all my brass with a rotary tumbler from Harbor Freight.  It's the single drum 3lb model, but they sell a double drum.  The single is $32 on the website.  I've been using it for almost three years with no complaints.  It's even got a cooling fan built in.  They designed it to run for days at a time tumbling rocks.  Looks like this:

Here's some brass I found today at the range:

Here's what the drum looks like with that brass.  Barely has the bottom coated.  It'll hold 200 9mm, 100 .223, or 50 .30-06 at a time.  

All you have to do is fill it with water to the level of the cases.  Add a tablespoon of real lemon juice and a small squirt of dish soap.  I like Ajax brand.  Cork it and let it tumble for a half hour.  A half hour is all you need, but letting it go for an hour will get the cases extra nice.  If you're gonna do bottleneck cases, it's important that you use a universal decapper on them first so the water can drain.  Also, for best results, don't tumble any brass that can get stuck inside something smaller or bigger.  No .40 and 9mm at the same time.

Here's the water once the tumbling is done.  I've seen a lot worse.

And here's the final product.  Just rinse the soap and residue off and roll them around on a towel to get mostly dry and them transfer to another dry towel.  Pistol cases can usually be loaded in 24 hours, but I like to wait a little longer for bottleneck.  They dry quicker in front of a fan of dehumidifier.  Best part is, no media to buy and you never have to clean media out of flash holes.  

Nice and clean and ready to load.  Hope this inspires somebody else to try it.  It may not be better than a standard tumbler, but it's quicker and with no dust.
Link Posted: 7/31/2009 2:05:15 PM EDT
[#1]
i like it.