Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Optics, Mounts, and Sights
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 1/25/2009 10:12:38 PM EDT
Introduction/Background

This review took quite a bit of time to complete, not only because I wanted to get a very accurate assessment of each mounts’ strengths and weaknesses, but because I work in the firearms industry, and it took me a while to figure out how to write this without stepping on too many toes.

I would like to add that this is a technical discussion of the mounts ONLY and that I do not wish to discuss any other issues. I am not a lawyer, nor do I consort with lawyers.

I was first introduced to LaRue Tactical by a friend who now works for – wait for it – Vltor Weapons Systems. I was pretty impressed with the ACOG mount he had, as it seemed to be head and shoulders above the dual thumbscrew mount that was foisted upon me when I was in the military. A while later, I purchased a few used Aimpoints. I bought a LaRue cantilever mount, and had problems with it. LT did fix it, although I had to complain loudly before they did, and there was a fumble or two along the way. I will say that I now have more than enough Dillos.

My first brush with American Defense came from Eric Kincel, El Jefe of Vltor. We got off to a rocky start due to a misunderstanding of sorts, but he was nice enough to give me a full tour of Vltor, and an ADM cantilever Aimpoint mount. He also gave me a thorough rundown of the differences between the first and second generation ADM mounts, and the reasons for the changes.