Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Pistols
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 7/31/2011 8:46:18 AM EDT
I have a Bushmaster Carbon-15 pistol and would like to install an foam cover on the buffer tube.
Is this do-able or is it a factory job? ie must be dipped in foaming chemicals?
Link Posted: 7/31/2011 9:39:50 AM EDT
[#1]
i bought  1 with my ace buffer kit, but other people tell me to go to a bike shop for handlebar foam, baby powder it inside and use an air hose to expand it to slip on
Link Posted: 7/31/2011 9:41:43 AM EDT
[#2]
J&T http://jtdistributing.net/store/index.html used to sell replacement foam pads for the skeleton stocks, to cover the tube.

I can't find a part listing for it there, but if you don't get a better option, give them a call, see what they say.

That's all I got.
Link Posted: 8/1/2011 8:20:13 AM EDT
[#3]
A member on this forum suggested this rubber cover that looks like foam. I'd imagine it would hold up longer than foam. I was going to buy one, but realized I really don't need a cover for my buffer tube.
https://www.exilemachine.net/shop/index.php?main_page=product_info&products_id=448
Link Posted: 8/1/2011 11:55:18 AM EDT
[#5]
PK has them for $5

Soapy water helps to slide them on.
Link Posted: 8/1/2011 1:07:51 PM EDT
[#6]
Use an air compressor and the foam will slide right on.  No need for soap or any other substance.
Link Posted: 10/10/2011 12:00:55 PM EDT
[#7]
RUBBER BUFFER COVER

This looks like the one for my 1.25" X 4" buffer tube for my Carbon 15 pistol.
When I install it do I just cut it to size or do I pack the end of the tube with ???? whatever.
I was thinking that second maybe an option. I can always cut it down if I do not like the weld or the "limp spot" at the end of the tube. Once I cut it I can not put it back together again.
Link Posted: 10/14/2011 7:09:32 AM EDT
[#8]
Quoted: