Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 2/9/2010 12:07:15 PM EDT
First off I would like to start this topic off by letting everyone know I am a newb to the AR world and appreciate all of your comments in advance.  My question is about checking headspace.  I just bought a Young Manufacturing National Match Bolt Assembly and I am currently looking into barrels.  I am thinking about a Sabre Defense, White Oak Arm., or Centurion Arms...maybe a Daniel Defense.  Anyway I would like to know if it is completely necessary to buy a Go and No Go Gauge to check the headspace between your bolt and barrel.  I hate to spend 40 to 50 bucks on two gauges I am only going to use once per build.  Please let me know if you checked the headspace on your builds(especially if you are using any of the gear I am).  Also I would like to know if anyone has experience with those barrels and how they feel about them.  THANKS A MILLION!
Link Posted: 2/9/2010 12:16:46 PM EDT
[#1]
All 4 are great barrels. If properly installed headspace shouldn't be a problem. Never has been with me.
Link Posted: 2/9/2010 12:56:12 PM EDT
[#2]
The only gage you really need is the FIELD. A used rifle can close on a NO-GO and be perfectly safe as long as it rejects the FIELD gage. I check my rifles yearly with a FIELD gage to make sure headspace hasn't gone out of spec. It's overkill, but I like being able to see and stuff.  

The TM says to check headspace after changing a barrel or bolt, not that most barrels and bolts are in spec so don't bother.

Make sure you use a gage that matches the chamber in your rifle. a gage for 5.56 can give false readings in a .223 Rem. chamber and vice versa.

Ask around in your hometown forum. I bet someone close to you has a FIELD gage you can use w/o having to buy it. BSW

Link Posted: 2/10/2010 1:28:25 AM EDT
[#3]
Quoted: