Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 3/9/2006 12:16:38 PM EDT
Can someone instruct me as to the proper way to remove the front sling loop.  I am going to use a single point sling on my new AR and would like to remove the front sling loop because it rattles too much.
Link Posted: 3/9/2006 12:20:29 PM EDT
[#1]
Just use a punch to drive out the pin holding it in place.

CSP
Link Posted: 3/9/2006 12:24:42 PM EDT
[#2]
Thanks.  I thought it was probably that simple, but I have never done it before and wanted to make sure.
Link Posted: 3/9/2006 1:39:21 PM EDT
[#3]
Yep a 1/16" punch in the dimpled portion.  A good sharp whack from a hammer and it will drive the rivet out, and the sling swivel will drop when you pull out the punch.
Link Posted: 3/9/2006 1:48:03 PM EDT
[#4]
Hadn't thought of using a punch... I was gonna drill the rivet. I use the side loop for my sling and the bottom one hits the SF light I'm using... I'll try the punch.
Link Posted: 3/9/2006 5:33:13 PM EDT
[#5]

Quoted:
Hadn't thought of using a punch... I was gonna drill the rivet. I use the side loop for my sling and the bottom one hits the SF light I'm using... I'll try the punch.

U are talKing about the front sling mount that is hanging not a M4 mount inside the FSB. I use a wood chisile and hammer . It comes of real easy .
Link Posted: 3/9/2006 6:26:33 PM EDT
[#6]

Quoted:

Quoted:

U are talKing about the front sling mount that is hanging not a M4 mount inside the FSB. I use a wood chisile and hammer . It comes of real easy .

Yeah, I was talkin' about the one that hangs off the bottom. Did you just use the chisel to cut off the head of the rivet or what?
Link Posted: 3/9/2006 6:33:13 PM EDT
[#7]
Mine was pinned, used a 3/32 punch to drive the pin out.
Link Posted: 3/9/2006 6:45:09 PM EDT
[#8]