Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 6/20/2008 9:35:19 PM EDT
Anyone else here looking forward to the availability of this new HT?

Looks like a winner.  It'll be nice to have an APRS radio without needing cumbersome GPS cords and power connections, plus 1.5w on 220 will be nice!

So far nothing been said on pricing.  I hear 300-400$ish before options.  Universal radio and gigaparts are still not putting out a price.  Seems like it'll be next month before anyone can order.

I have a VX-3 and really enjoy it. The VX-8 will be my 3rd Yaesu product. (8900 for the house).

Link Posted: 6/20/2008 9:46:21 PM EDT
[#1]
I was getting ready to order the 7R, then I found out about this and am now waiting to see the reviews once its out.  I have no experience with Ham radios and am certainly not up to being their guinea pig to "beta" test this radio.
Link Posted: 6/20/2008 9:55:14 PM EDT
[#2]

Quoted:
I was getting ready to order the 7R, then I found out about this and am now waiting to see the reviews once its out.  I have no experience with Ham radios and am certainly not up to being their guinea pig to "beta" test this radio.

A VX8 is certainly a complicated first radio thats for sure.  Most people will say dont buy an HT for your first, however not everyone has the same learning curve or use for the radio.

I'd like to say I'll order one next month when/if they are available, but its not likely.  I will most likely wait until august or september as you said, to let others be the 'first' to have trouble if it happens. I nearly purchased the VX7 also until my brother told me about the VX8 coming out.  Glad I didnt buy it because I want the APRS function.

I already have a VX3, and a kenwood D7A, so I dont have to have it right-now anyways.
Link Posted: 6/21/2008 6:10:45 AM EDT
[#3]

Quoted: