Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 2
Posted: 7/18/2008 7:49:33 AM EDT
I was talking with a SWAT officer who was at the college giving a presentation and he told the class that some meth dealers will protect their backwoods meth production areas with shotgun shells set in a sleeve with a nail on the bottom.  So basically the police officers step on the shotgun shells and they blast into the foot taking the officer down and giving advance warning to the guys working the meth lab.

Anyone else ever heard of this if true I would hate to be a police officer raiding a backwoods meth lab.
Link Posted: 7/18/2008 7:50:54 AM EDT
[#1]
I have no experience with this but if you built it out of materials strong enough to contain the pressure of the shell, I don't see why it wouldn't work...
Link Posted: 7/18/2008 7:51:57 AM EDT
[#2]
heard of it but have never seen any actual reports of it

I would think you would need some momentum to set them off than  merely stepping on it and pushing the primer against a "firing pin"
Link Posted: 7/18/2008 7:52:33 AM EDT
[#3]

Quoted:
I have no experience with this but if you built it out of materials strong enough to contain the pressure of the shell, I don't see why it wouldn't work...
Damn it would suck to lose your foot while trying to take down a meth lab.  I didn't think that meth heads were all that smart.
Link Posted: 7/18/2008 7:52:42 AM EDT
[#4]
I'm not sure that a constant pressure such as a footstep would ignore the primer.

Doesn't it have to be more of an impact?

Hopefully somebody smarter then me will address this.
Link Posted: 7/18/2008 7:53:25 AM EDT
[#5]
Sounds like the Vietcong are mixing meth.  What's next, punji pits in the middle of a trailer park?
Link Posted: 7/18/2008 7:53:46 AM EDT
[#6]

Quoted:
heard of it but have never seen any actual reports of it