Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 2/23/2001 8:51:50 PM EDT
Any martial artists out there? if so what style...
shaolin kung-fu for me
Link Posted: 2/23/2001 8:57:08 PM EDT
[#1]
You'll find Jujitsu or any of it's derivitives such as Judo or Aikido more useful.  Most of the H2H moves taught in both the military and police are based on one of these arts.
Link Posted: 2/23/2001 9:00:21 PM EDT
[#2]
Ving Tsun (Wing Chun) Kung Fu ... dabbled in Jeet Kune Do ... I really enjoy the freestyle.
Link Posted: 2/23/2001 9:04:17 PM EDT
[#3]
I trained actively in martial arts for more than 11 years.  I studied a Burmese art called, Bando.  It combines Muay Thai with Kung Fu type techniques, along with a series of blunt and edged weapons to learn.
Link Posted: 2/23/2001 9:07:25 PM EDT
[#4]
Originally Posted By gÖb£í/\/:
shaolin kung-fu for me
View Quote

What style of Kung Fu?
Took Sil-Lum in High School and Ying Jow Pai a few years back.

Also taken Wing Chun, Tae Kwon Do, Arnis, and Kempo. Been studying since I was about 12yo.
After getting out of the military I taught Kempo for a couple of years.
Link Posted: 2/23/2001 9:13:31 PM EDT
[#5]
Si Lum is another name for Shao-Lin where most martial arts are derived... along with kempo that is where the horse and cat stance come from in kempo along with numerous other things.
Link Posted: 2/23/2001 9:21:50 PM EDT
[#6]
Regardless of all the different styles, the best training you can get is plain old american boxing in a ring.  It's the only one that will teach you to stay on your feet and fight back no matter how hard or how often you get hit.  

THAT is what wins a fight.  Everything else is semantics.
Link Posted: 2/23/2001 9:29:24 PM EDT
[#7]
Si Lum is another name for Shao-Lin where most martial arts are derived... along with kempo that is where the horse and cat stance come from in kempo along with numerous other things.
View Quote