Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 6/17/2014 11:18:05 AM EDT
So I'm instructing an NRA Basic Pistol course this past weekend, come range time an elderly gentlemen pulls out his pistol to shoot. I'm going down the line to check pistols for safety and my eye about bulge out of my head when I see laying before me a COLT 1911 NM .38 SPECIAL MID RANGE WAD CUTTER.

How cool is that....naturally I had to shoot it and when it came time to clean the pistols....I broke it down and reassembled for the guy. Too fun. Never know whats going to show up at a class.

Link Posted: 6/17/2014 11:40:30 AM EDT
[#1]
They are sweet, if underpowered. I got to shoot a guys clark 6" .38 once.  The old one, when Jim Clark welded two
slides to get a 6" gun.  Probaby the most accurate 25 yd gun I have ever shot.
Link Posted: 7/6/2014 7:23:28 PM EDT
[#2]
I was a student in a class; a older student brought in a 1911.  No biggie,  WRONG!!!

It was a custom firearm, done by I have no idea whom, for the Texas Ranger of the Year (sorry I forget the year, circa 1960).  It had aluminum stocks on it that were bowed out.  

The student dropped a round from the breach into the frame, it flipped inside the frame and was half in the stocks.  This was day 1 of a 4 day class, the instructors were running up and down the line helping people get unloaded.  I helped the student get that pesky round out.  I was told at the end of class by the instructors about the history of the weapon.  

Damn I should have gotten a pic and talked to the owner.  He may have been the Texas Ranger presented with that weapon, or his buddy that was there with him.
Link Posted: 7/7/2014 1:33:40 PM EDT
[#3]

Quoted: