Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 8/22/2014 5:54:16 PM EDT
The gf is a new shooter.  I've taken her to the range a few times with me and she does excellent with the fundamentals, safety, etc.

A few weeks ago, I got her to take the NRA basic pistol class.  There's a personal protection the home course in the area coming up that I'd like her to take.

Too much for her or something that would do her good?  I know it's not a tactical handgun class or anything like that, but just want to make sure she'd be ok with it in advance.

Thoughts?
Link Posted: 8/22/2014 9:20:46 PM EDT
[#1]
its actually one of the better courses the NRA offers.  She will,be fine and learn a lot.
Link Posted: 8/22/2014 11:39:04 PM EDT
[#2]
I'm an instructor for it.  Most of it is analyzing scenarios and crime prevention, but it does include slightly more tactical shooting, including an emphasis on real-world marksmanship compared to the "pure" marksmanship in the basic class.

ETA:  has she been practicing?  The marksmanship requirements aren't particularly difficult, but it is a step above the "all your hits on a paper plate at short range" in the basic class.  

Link Posted: 8/22/2014 11:58:37 PM EDT
[#3]
Thanks to both of you.

She has practiced a bit.  She just got her own place and wants her first firearm to keep there so I think the class would be good for her.  Hope to get her back to the range a few times before the class.
Link Posted: 10/1/2014 2:07:49 PM EDT
[#4]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
I'm an instructor for it.  Most of it is analyzing scenarios and crime prevention, but it does include slightly more tactical shooting, including an emphasis on real-world marksmanship compared to the "pure" marksmanship in the basic class.