Previous Page
Page:  / 2
Author
Posted: 9/27/2012 12:04:21 PM EST
I want to relocate to NYS from Florida . I would like to secure employment as an armed security officer before I move. From what I determined there is no way to get a pistol permit until I am a NYS resident? Any other options?
zercool
Link To This Post
Posted: 9/27/2012 12:10:37 PM EST
Nope. Sorry.
Once order starts getting restored there's that akward moment when you have to explain why the heads of your enemies are on pikes lining your cul-de-sac. -- HullBreach
emsjeep
3L
Link To This Post
Posted: 9/27/2012 1:32:01 PM EST
Originally Posted By zercool:
Nope. Sorry.

Depending on the company they may be able to push one through or even file him for peace officer status in rather short order. It all depends...executive protection companies in NYC for example, but if you are planning to guard a warehouse in East Bumble...probly not...
"Sed quis custodiet ipsos custodes?"
RabidMonkeyPox
Alma Wade of arfcom
Link To This Post
Posted: 9/27/2012 1:54:25 PM EST
[Last Edit: 9/27/2012 1:55:03 PM EST by RabidMonkeyPox]
nope, not gonna happen. plus you have to be a resident in the state for x amount of years, I forget how long before you are able to apply.
I am the Vile to burn in Paradise
It is better to Reign in Hell than Serve in Heaven----Milton
The darkness under a whore's bed sheets
Sgt_Gold
Link To This Post
Posted: 9/27/2012 3:02:48 PM EST
Originally Posted By 996twint:
I want to relocate to NYS from Florida . I would like to secure employment as an armed security officer before I move. From what I determined there is no way to get a pistol permit until I am a NYS resident? Any other options?

If you find a job before you move the company you work for may be able to expedite the process. Being materially employed by a company in NYS is one of the few conditions that allows non NYS resident to get a pistol license.
Romulans ghaj ghobe' quv.
Glocks ghaj ghobe' qa'.
Aardvark
Link To This Post