Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 4/23/2017 6:18:48 PM EDT
How many of you guys are up here?

My wife and I moved up late last year and are finally settling into the groove of things.

Other than Front Site, can anyone recommend any good gun shops in the area? Any local ranges? Or will I be stuck making a trek anytime I want to go shooting?

I've lived in Dallas all my life, but this is my first time this far north, so any input you guys have on the area, things to do, places to go see/eat at would be appreciated.

Also, any gun shows in the area? I drove down to Market Hall for the last one, but that was a mother of a drive there and back haha
Link Posted: 4/23/2017 6:30:29 PM EDT
[#1]
There are no ranges in the area, you will have to travel.  The range at Frisco is probably the closest.

Runner Runner Guns is basically across the street from Frontsite.  There is or used to be a small curio gun shop in the basement of downtown--don't know if they are still there.  There is Guns for Gals, which is two doors down from Runner Runner Guns.  And out by 380 and Custer there is a firearms training place which does stuff with 1911.  And finally, there is a small shop down McDonald street.

There is a gun show in McKinney which happens once a year, but it is only about 30 tables and mostly not even a gun show at all.  It is out in some field someplace.  The closest biggest gun show would be in Allen, Texas at the stadium run by Premier Gun Shows.

---

For places to see and do:

Take a trip to Hutchin's BBQ.  It is very highly ranked and has great brisket.  Be warned, dinner time on a Saturday will be an hour wait.
Check out Downtown McKinney.  Lots of neat local shops and restaurants.  It is not large, but go when they have a festival, Octoberfest, Christmas, etc.