Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 2
Posted: 9/14/2014 11:08:22 AM EDT
Had a phone conversation about a possible job & move there.    I have two kids (15yrs & 12yrs), married, etc....   We like to boat, beaches, and warm weather.   Plus shooting and typical school athletics and clubs for the kids.  (Wrestling, soccer, JROTC).

What is it like?     I've looked at the demographics online, but figured you guys could add some practical knowledge.    Only experience w/ TX is living in Orange for about 2yrs.    Thanks folks.  

-Jh
Link Posted: 9/14/2014 12:00:12 PM EDT
[#1]
You will get a mix of responses here.  To qualify, I was a cop in Corpus for a decade, and today am still close to  LE by virtue of my current job.  I voluntarily brought my family back in 2013

Corpus has a similar crime rate as other like sized towns.  The economy is booming right now.  There are several new large companies building in Corpus.  The unemployment rate is less than the state average.

If you like hunting and fishing, you cannot go wrong here.   Sports, we have minor league Baseball and Hockey.  Lots for the kiddos to do.  Texas State Aquarium, USS Lexington, several museums, etc.   There are several dolphin tour places.  Rent jet skis, etc.  We have one water park, and Schlitterbaun is building on the island.  

We seldom eat at chain restaurants anymore because of all of the great local ones.  

We are on a horseshoe shaped bay, and we have beaches that are on that bay.  In addition, North Padre Island is part Corpus.  Just a quick drive across the intracoastal waterway to the Island are Gulf of Mexico beaches.  

The weather is humid, but winters are mild.  

I am a fan of Corpus.  Others will be along to tell you what they dislike.  

Link Posted: 9/14/2014 5:09:48 PM EDT
[#2]
Thanks man.  Appreciate it.
Link Posted: 9/14/2014 6:06:37 PM EDT
[#3]