Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 4/18/2016 3:35:02 PM EDT
Mods, if this is not okay, I apologize and you can take it down. i wanted to put it out there for those that may be interested. I know it would be a hell of a drive...

I wanted to extend a notification that I am hosting Kerry Davis of Dark Angel Medical in Lincoln, NE in 2016 if you are so inclined.

I just talked to Kerry and he is planning on coming back on 6-7 AUG 2016.

http://www.darkangelmedical.com

Here is a testimonial from one of the students from the most recent course:

I attended the class.  I have zero background medically, so I went in with a blank slate, other than things I'd read/heard in 40-some trips around the sun.  Also, please notice I'm not going to say Instructor Bob is the greatest!  If for no other reason than to keep Thomas from beating his head against his keyboard  ;D

One of the things I was worried about was that I'd get lost in medical jargon.  Thankfully that fear was unfounded, and the instructors both did a good job of teaching in a way that I could follow easily.  The only time I recall not knowing an acronym they were using was in reference to a nasal airway tube thingy (that's probably the official name) but I figured it out pretty quickly.

The content was organized so that it all related back to the central objectives:  Stop the bleeding, start the breathing, monitor for shock.  I like when things relate back to an easily remembered objective, so this worked for me.

We received a fairly easy to follow text, and most people had purchased a D.A.R.K. kit as part of the class.  

Day 1 was all lecture and discussion based.  Day 2 was about half of the same and then practical application of the some of the supplies in our kit.