Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 5/3/2017 2:25:34 PM EDT
Hey guys, been a while since I've been on here. So the title pretty much sums it up. I've spent two and half years here in the 82nd and in 10 months it will be time for me to ETS. When I come home I am wanting to go the law enforcement route, with interests in the Detroit/Detroit metro area. With that I have a few questions. Are there any LEO's that can give me a few tips on things I can start doing now to help make things transition easier come next March. Also, is being a police officer in detroit as bad as it sounds? I'm also open to the option of joining MSP and I've also started to contact OU and UofM so I can go to school and get a criminal justice degree in case I decide to go the federal route. What other advice would you guys have?  Any help or suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks

Edit: forgot to mention that I have no experience in LE. I'm a FISTer, haven't spent any time as an MP
Link Posted: 5/3/2017 3:13:17 PM EDT
[#1]
Use your GI bill to get an Associates Degree in Law Enforcement.

Start swimming for your workouts. Most Michigan State Police cadets washout because they are unable to meet the swimming criteria.

Law Enforcement positions at the major Universities are among the highest paying/best benefit packages out there. They also have some of the best duty. Drunken sex crazy teenagers, although obnoxious, rarely require Tazers or gunplay to render them harmless.