Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 11/24/2016 1:45:22 PM EDT
I work in MI and live in CO.  I am a CO resident with a valid CO CCW permit, which is honored in MI.

Question I have is this - since my handgun isn't registered, as required in MI, can I bring it with me when I come in from out of town?  Is there some kind of exemption for people visiting or passing through?

Obviously the law would be idiotic if it allowed CCW but you had to borrow a MI gun or something, but I've seen crazier stuff.
Link Posted: 11/24/2016 2:31:09 PM EDT
[#1]
Carry as usual, but be wary, you have to follow MeatChicken rules
>02 for CC
>08 for Open Carry
No Church,hospital,carry etc.

Have fun
Link Posted: 11/24/2016 2:54:30 PM EDT
[#2]
Pistol registration only applies to MI residents. As long as you can legally possess the pistol in your state of residence and have a valid CCW license from your state of residence, you're good to go.
Link Posted: 11/24/2016 3:19:54 PM EDT
[#3]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
Question I have is this - since my handgun isn't registered, as required in MI, can I bring it with me when I come in from out of town?  Is there some kind of exemption for people visiting or passing through?
View Quote View All Quotes
View All Quotes
Quoted:

Your CO carry permit is your exemption.

Quoted:
No Church,hospital,carry etc.

Actually, he technically could... Maybe.  The no-carry provisions in the law are written to apply to someone "licensed under this act" or words to that effect. A CO resident is licensed under CO law. MI law just says an out-of-stater can carry with their home-state permit. The other particulars could be interpreted as not applying to them.

Not that I'd want to be the test case for that, though.
Link Posted: 11/24/2016 3:29:11 PM EDT
[#4]