Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 4/12/2014 3:55:38 PM EDT
It seems that SB1612 has passed both chambers and will likely be signed by the governor. It strengthens preemption by voiding pre-86 local ordinances and takes effect immediately upon becoming law. While it does not delete the local option for prohibiting park carry under state law, Knoxville does not use that section to prohibit park carry. It uses a pre-86 ordinance. Am I correct in thinking that park carry will become legal in Knoxville upon Haslam's signature (unless Knoxville decides to use the state law provision)?
Link Posted: 4/12/2014 4:46:19 PM EDT
[#1]
I'm not a lawyer.  I'm a layman who thinks laws should be simple to read and understand.

Therefore I think it's better to ask forgiveness than permission, especially in some Knoxville parks.
Link Posted: 4/12/2014 5:14:40 PM EDT
[#2]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
I'm not a lawyer.  I'm a layman who thinks laws should be simple to read and understand.

Therefore I think it's better to ask forgiveness than permission, especially in some Knoxville parks.
View Quote

Better to be judged by 12 than carried by 6 ;)
Link Posted: 4/12/2014 8:39:34 PM EDT
[#3]
Quoted:
It seems that SB1612 has passed both chambers and will likely be signed by the governor. It strengthens preemption by voiding pre-86 local ordinances and takes effect immediately upon becoming law. While it does not delete the local option for prohibiting park carry under state law, Knoxville does not use that section to prohibit park carry. It uses a pre-86 ordinance. Am I correct in thinking that park carry will become legal in Knoxville upon Haslam's signature (unless Knoxville decides to use the state law provision)?
View Quote

Well that is damned interesting. Do you know if the same applies to Oak Ridge parks? I'd like to be able to carry at Haw Ridge without worrying about printing.