Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 9/14/2014 3:14:55 PM EDT
...for the city, state? I'm in Vancouver, WA....the address on my F1 is Vancouver, WA...but if I drive across the river and actually make the SBRs in Portland, OR via the 5320.20 form, would I engrave "Portland, OR" on the SBRs or Vancouver, WA?  
Link Posted: 9/14/2014 3:18:02 PM EDT
[#1]
I asked in another thread.  Someone replied that he had talked to the BATFE and they stated where the trust is.

I was going to do the same thing -- as I had a concern over "can't make in WA", but as long as you have the 5320.20, we'll be in the clear.
Link Posted: 9/14/2014 6:28:35 PM EDT
[#2]
Portland is one letter shorter... :grin:

I think having an approved 5320.20 and having the thing engraved Portland OR would provide at least a foundation for reasonable doubt that the gun was made in Washington. On the other hand I'm not a lawyer...
Link Posted: 9/14/2014 9:37:37 PM EDT
[#3]
Link Posted: 9/14/2014 10:01:07 PM EDT
[#4]
So, a few weeks ago, I did the "Ask the Experts" from atfonline.gov/eforms, and I asked the following question: "Hello, I have an approved Form 1. Do I engrave the Name, City and State on Form 1 box 3b on the firearm or do I engrave where the actually SBR was made. For example, if approved Form 1 box 3b lists Portland, OR, and the SBR was assmbled/made in Boise, ID, what do I engrave on the SBR? Portland, OR or where it was assembled, Boise, ID?"

The response that I received from Gary N.Schaible, was "The city and state will be that of the trust address, not where assembled. The name, city and state can be marked on the receiver or the barrel as long as the marking is conspicuous in either location."