Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 11/4/2015 9:54:25 PM EDT

Thread topic is pretty much the question.  Is there anyone currently doing it?  If so, how and from where?  I'm currently a NJ resident, single and don't have a family or dog and already commute 1.5 hours from where I am.  I'd love to move out of this state.

Link Posted: 11/4/2015 10:11:11 PM EDT
[#1]
Yardley, Bucks County has Amtrak from Trenton.

Upper Bucks County has good old 78 East to the Holland Tunnel.

A little further North I-80 is a straight shot to the GWB.

I would take a $25k pay cut and find a job in PA or Central Jersey before I drove to NYC every day, but that's me.
Link Posted: 11/5/2015 1:11:24 PM EDT
[#2]
I go to NYC 2 to 3 times a month and live in the Yardley Newtown area of Bucks county.

15 minute drive to Trenton Train station. NJ Transit to Penn Station. I hop the subway from there wherever I need to go. Train runs about an hour. Much easier than driving.

Yardley and Newtown are both great towns. We have excellent gun laws with regard to purchase, concealed carry and NFA. It's like a different country compared to NJ.
Link Posted: 11/5/2015 9:25:22 PM EDT
[#3]
I used to drive to NYC from Bangor and it SUCKED! It would take me about 50 mins to get from my house to exit 53 on I-80 which is route 3. Then it would take me another hour (usually more) to get through the Lincoln tunnel. Rain, snow, sunrise/sunset all add to the travel time. I now drive to the Harrison path train station which takes about an hour then take the train into midtown which is another 30 mins. That helps my sanity stay at an approved level, my wallet happy by not paying NYC parking and tolls and my car in better condition.

Some days are easier than others and some days make you wonder WTF you were thinking. As long as you're happy with where you end up after you leave then its all worth it.
Link Posted: 11/13/2015 4:12:06 PM EDT
[#4]