Warning

 

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Posted: 3/14/2017 3:56:22 PM EDT
It's below. If you're church has a preschool, you're probably not allowed to carry there under current law.

Florida Urgent Alert! Open Carry & Church Carry Bills up in House Criminal Justice on Wednesday 3/15/2017
DATE:March 13, 2017
TO:USF & NRA Members and Friends
FROM:Marion P. Hammer
USF Executive Director
NRA Past President

HB-779 and HB-849 by Rep. Neil Combee will both be heard by the House Criminal Justice Committee on Wednesday, March 15, 2017 at 9:00am.

HB-779 Open Carry Protection by Rep. Neil Combee removes the criminal penalties for violations of the open carry law and prohibits a person who has a concealed firearms license from being arrested and charged with a crime if their firearm becomes temporarily exposed to sight of another person.

HB-849 Carry on Church Property by Rep. Neil Combee to eliminate restrictions that prevent churches from allowing firearms on church property if church property is ever used for any type of schooling.

Please EMAIL the following House members IMMEDIATELY and URGE them to SUPPORT HB-779 & HB-849

IN THE SUBJECT LINE PUT: SUPPORT HB-779 & HB-849 in House Criminal Justice Committee

(To send your message to all just Block and Copy All email addresses into the "Send To" box)

Ross.Spano@myfloridahouse.gov,
Julio.Gonzalez@myfloridahouse.gov,
Sharon.Pritchett@myfloridahouse.gov,
Ramon.Alexander@myfloridahouse.gov,
Thad.Altman@myfloridahouse.gov,
DaneEagle@myfloridahouse.gov,
James.Grant@myfloridahouse.gov,
Gayle.Harrell@myfloridahouse.gov,
Chris.Latvala@myfloridahouse.gov,
Jared.Moskowitz@myfloridahouse.gov,
Dan.Raulerson@myfloridahouse.gov,
David.Richardson@myfloridahouse.gov,
Bob.Rommel@myfloridahouse.gov,
Emily.Slosberg@myfloridahouse.gov,
Jennifer.Sullivan@myfloridahouse.gov

These House Committee members need to hear from you. Please email them IMMEDIATELY.
Link Posted: 3/14/2017 4:49:16 PM EDT
Why is the temporary exposure bill being misrepresented as being open carry?
Link Posted: 3/14/2017 5:13:42 PM EDT
That is one DAMNED good question!
Link Posted: 3/14/2017 5:33:35 PM EDT
[Last Edit: 3/14/2017 5:37:18 PM EDT by America-first]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Originally Posted By dogrunner:
That is one DAMNED good question!
View Quote


Marion Hammer sent out a previous Florida Urgent Alert e mail that misrepresented the Senate's temporary exposure bill as being the open carry bill as well.

That time I didn't bother to check the bill and I fell for the misrepresentation hook, line, and sinker.



Florida Urgent Alert!  Open Carry & Court House Carry Bills Up in Senate Judiciary on Tuesday 3/7/2017 

DATE:March 4, 2017
TO:USF & NRA Members and Friends
FROM:Marion P. Hammer
 USF Executive Director
 NRA Past President
 
SB-646 and SB-616 by Sen. Greg Steube will both be heard by the Senate Judiciary Committee on Tuesday, March 7, 2017, between 4:00-6:00pm.

SB-646 Open Carrying   by Sen. Greg Steube removes the criminal penalties for violations of the open carry law and prohibits a person who has a concealed firearms license from being arrested and charged with a crime if their firearm becomes exposed to sight of another person.

SB-616 Courthouse Carry  by Sen. Greg Steube allows a concealed firearms licensee to temporarily store a firearm with courthouse security when entering a courthouse and provides for return upon departure.

Please EMAIL the following Senate members IMMEDIATELY and URGE them to SUPPORT SB-616 & SB-646

IN THE SUBJECT LINE PUT:  SUPPORT SB-646 & SB-616 in Senate Judiciary Committee

(To send your message to all just Block and Copy All email addresses into the "Send To" box)

steube.greg@flsenate.gov,
benacquisto.lizbeth@flsenate.gov,
bracy.randolph@flsenate.gov,
flores.anitere@flsenate.gov,
garcia.rene@flsenate.gov,
gibson.audrey@flsenate.gov,
mayfield.debbie@flsenate.gov
powell.bobby@flsenate.gov,
thurston.perry@flsenate.gov

These Senate Committee members need to hear from you.  Please email them IMMEDIATELY.

FOLLOW NRA-ILA

© 2016 National Rifle Association of America, Institute For Legislative Action. To contact NRA-ILA call 800-392-8683. Address: 11250 Waples Mill Road Fairfax, Virginia 22030.
Please do not reply to this email.
Unsubscribe from this email list | Manage your email preferences
Thank you!


As pointed out to me by another member SB 646 is NOT actually an open carry bill, but rather another temporary exposure bill that reduces the penalty for exposure to a 25 dollar fine which is why I edited the thread title to open "carrying".

Marion Hammer fooled me again.
Link Posted: 3/15/2017 10:34:07 PM EDT
[Last Edit: 3/15/2017 10:34:56 PM EDT by Miami_JBT]
SB 646 was originally going to decriminalize Open Carry. The original bill was you can't arrested and you'd pay a $25 fee to the clerk of court. At the last minute back on March 7 Sen. Steube added two amendments to it. One made it to where it was now a three strike deal. First time violation is a $25 fee, second is a $500 fee, and the third is a 2nd Degree Misdemeanor. The second Amendment to the bill carved out a special provision for all of the Legislature to conceal carry. 

Marion Hammer wasn't even at the Capitol back on March 7 when SB 646 was originally scheduled for committee. 
Link Posted: 3/17/2017 10:11:22 AM EDT
Marion Hammer


Top Top