Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 9/21/2016 10:45:40 PM EDT
I locked back the bolt on my m1 garand and then tried to close it and now it won't shut. Any help would be appreciated, Thanks!
Link Posted: 9/21/2016 10:49:54 PM EDT
[#1]
have you recently cleaned and disassembled the rifle?  It's easy to put fhe follower arm in wrong, or something like that.
Link Posted: 9/21/2016 10:51:58 PM EDT
[#2]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
have you recently cleaned and disassembled the rifle?  It's easy to put fhe follower arm in wrong, or something like that.
View Quote

Yep, sometimes the op-rod can get off track too.

Can  you post some pictures?

I'd start by taking the trigger group out and separating the stock and action.  Usually from there you can get it apart without much trouble.
Link Posted: 9/21/2016 10:51:59 PM EDT
[#3]
No I just got it today. I'm new to garands so I'm not sure if I did something wrong.
Link Posted: 9/21/2016 10:57:52 PM EDT
[#4]
Quoted:
No I just got it today. I'm new to garands so I'm not sure if I did something wrong.
View Quote

Ok, if you are new to the garand, here's a quick first tip.

If the gun was not loaded (assuming it isn't) the bolt will lock back if  you pull it to the rear.  To unlock, depress the follower with your left thumb while holding onto the oprod and applying a little rearward pressure with your right hand.  Once the follower is down 1/2" or so, ease the op rod forward and it should go back into battery.  Just get your left thumb out of the way!
Link Posted: 9/21/2016 11:00:01 PM EDT
[#5]
Pull up some YouTube videos and diagnose!
Link Posted: 9/21/2016 11:04:14 PM EDT
[#6]
Ok will try that, I couldn't figure out how to post photos from my iPhone. Will let you know what happens.
Link Posted: 9/21/2016 11:07:34 PM EDT
[#7]

Quoted: