Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 7/30/2017 9:30:16 PM EDT
Glue and screw job, what is the best for walnut?

Attachment Attached File
Link Posted: 7/30/2017 9:45:50 PM EDT
[#1]
Titebond 2 or 3 for all my wood projects, but I've never fixed a stock before.
Link Posted: 7/30/2017 10:11:12 PM EDT
[#2]
Gorilla glue or any polyurethane glue will hold it. Do not over apply however because it foams as it cures.
Link Posted: 7/30/2017 10:33:25 PM EDT
[#3]
I'm leaning toward a wood glue like titebond, I've had some bad luck with Gorilla glue not aging well , becoming brittle over time.

Wondering about epoxy.....anyone try it?
Link Posted: 7/30/2017 10:44:29 PM EDT
[#4]
Acra glass, a couple of pins, and a lot of stretched surgical tubing to pull it all in.

- Chris
Link Posted: 7/30/2017 11:42:48 PM EDT
[#5]
Tite bond will be least visible. Epoxy will leave a dark line. I have no experience with polyurethane like Gorilla Glue. 
Link Posted: 7/30/2017 11:49:23 PM EDT
[#6]
what caliber?
Link Posted: 7/31/2017 12:18:41 AM EDT
[#7]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
Acra glass, a couple of pins, and a lot of stretched surgical tubing to pull it all in.

- Chris
View Quote
This
Link Posted: 7/31/2017 9:17:17 AM EDT
[#8]
Quoted:
what caliber?
View Quote
Remington 600 in 6mm R.E.M.

I'm actually planning to drill a pilot through the grip and put in a brass wood screw to pull it tight

Then dowell it and put a grip cap over it.

I have another stock if I wreck it, but it's one I

"Modified" when I was 19 or 20, and it ain't pretty!
Link Posted: 7/31/2017 8:28:56 PM EDT
[#9]
Brownell's advertise an Accra-Glass specifically as being good for stock repairs.

A proper epoxy job will be stronger and longer lasting then most any wood glue I ever tried.
I also have a low opinion of the vaunted Gorilla Glue.
Link Posted: 8/2/2017 2:30:40 PM EDT
[#10]
Quoted:

- Chris
View Quote
This.