Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 7/27/2017 2:06:28 PM EDT
Just like the title says.

Back when I was a grad student, bored in my lab waiting for various processes to finish, I used the dremel, drill press, scrap metal, and bits of broken .22 rifles I bought from a local gunsmith to make a semiautomatic .22 rifle that fed from Beretta NEOS mags (because they were $5 each from CDNN at the time). It looked awful, but not post-apocalyptic cool. It doubled a couple times when I test fired it, so I destroyed it.

I saw some threads on post-apocalyptic builds, and I was thinking about what I could do with hardware store bits and pieces. I figured something low-pressure, bolt action, and cheap to put together. I was debating between .380 and .32 but I'm leaning toward .32 just because it would work through my .30 Form 1 silencer.

Here's my deal. I want to do this with hand-tools only (dremel, hacksaw, hand drill). And I want to use parts from the local hardware stores (Lowe's, Ace, etc.) or auto parts stores. Once I build it as a pistol, I'll do a Form 1 and then carve a stock from a 2x4.

My plan was to use a steel tube as the body, and the bolt handle (probably a 1/4" bolt) would lock into a groove in the body. That's about all I have planned.

So, for you experienced folks, is it feasible to do this safely? I figured .32 ACP would be low-pressure enough that I wouldn't have to worry much, assuming I find a thick enough pipe or tube for the barrel. Any other thoughts?
Link Posted: 7/27/2017 4:50:45 PM EDT
[#1]
it wold be intresting to see, but also that is pretty much exatly the starting gun in fallout 4 http://fallout.wikia.com/wiki/Pipe_rifle_(Fallout_4)
Link Posted: 7/27/2017 6:03:33 PM EDT
[#2]
Its hard enough to find 32 ammo pre-apocalypse.
Link Posted: 7/27/2017 9:23:52 PM EDT
[#3]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
View Quote
This^