Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 4/22/2016 10:56:55 PM EDT
I've wanted a new trigger/sear for an SMG so I made a working (dry-firing) prototype from aluminum.  I'd like to go ahead and make one from steel now.  My friend has a proper heat treat oven that I can use to harden it, but what material should I be using that will be machinable, and then has available data for proper hardening?

Theses are the guys I buy from: http://metals.shopjfi.com/?l=1

I'm new to all this.  Thank you.
Link Posted: 4/23/2016 6:30:18 AM EDT
[#1]
4140 is good so is O1 tool steel if you properly heat treat to Rc 45-50 or so. S7 would be best but a bit more $.
For small quantities try McMaster-Carr
Link Posted: 4/25/2016 2:47:11 PM EDT
[#2]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
4140 is good so is O1 tool steel if you properly heat treat to Rc 45-50 or so. S7 would be best but a bit more $.
View Quote

IMHO, I would skip the 4140 and go straight to a quality tool steel. S7 is a pretty good recommendation with a proper heat treating setup, that would be my choice.
Link Posted: 4/26/2016 12:40:06 AM EDT
[#3]
Thanks guys.  Can the S7 be machined with standard HSS tooling?
Link Posted: 4/26/2016 12:45:05 AM EDT
[#4]
Quoted:
Thanks guys.  Can the S7 be machined with standard HSS tooling?
View Quote

Yes, no problem pre-hardened, but obviously carbide would be better
Link Posted: 4/27/2016 6:09:04 PM EDT
[#5]
Just whatever you do, don't stop the endmill in the middle of a cut if you use S7.  It work hardens almost instantly from the friction of the endmill against it.
Link Posted: 4/28/2016 10:02:01 PM EDT
[#6]
Quoted:
Just whatever you do, don't stop the endmill in the middle of a cut if you use S7.  It work hardens almost instantly from the friction of the endmill against it.
View Quote

Good to know.  I'm using a manual machine...
Link Posted: 4/29/2016 6:00:15 AM EDT
[#7]

Quoted: