Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 4/9/2015 7:10:33 PM EDT
I'm a veteran gun tinkerer, but a beginning machinist.

My buddy sent me his Arisaka to blue for him, he wanted me to crown it before bluing.

I'm sure he was hoping my neighbor would crown it, but I've been watching and practicing, the old Arisaka seemed like a good candidate for my first time without supervision.

So tell me what I screwed up and what I can do better.

I know it's not pretty, and the potato photo isn't great.

Fire away.

Link Posted: 4/9/2015 8:36:00 PM EDT
[#1]
I like your post's on blueing/browninig
Link Posted: 4/9/2015 10:25:42 PM EDT
[#2]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
I like your post's on blueing/browninig
View Quote

Thanks, I'm going to do a start to finish on this rifle in another thread. lot's of time consuming work to do on the small parts, so I'm waiting until it's finished to post.
Link Posted: 4/10/2015 7:48:40 AM EDT
[#3]
In all honesty it looks pretty rough. Way too many tooling marks. What did you use for a cutting tool?
I am gonna guess you set the compound at 11 degrees and backed out the compound?
I use a small carbide boring bar for crowning, sharpened to a very crisp edge. If I have to do an 11 degree I take a few light cuts to get to my depth. My final cut is just a shave, backing out the compound very slowly and evenly.
Link Posted: 4/10/2015 8:26:02 AM EDT
[#4]
Quoted:
In all honesty it looks pretty rough. Way too many tooling marks. What did you use for a cutting tool?
I am gonna guess you set the compound at 11 degrees and backed out the compound?
I use a small carbide boring bar for crowning, sharpened to a very crisp edge. If I have to do an 11 degree I take a few light cuts to get to my depth. My final cut is just a shave, backing out the compound very slowly and evenly.
View Quote