Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 7/24/2014 6:48:56 PM EDT
Hi All,

First post but I plan to spend a lot more time here, lots of good info.  

So I've spent the last month researching gun safes and have narrowed it down to these two.  I'm now an internet safe expert, I've even gone and kicked a bunch of tires.  If I could stretch the budget I'd be picking something else but I'm already pushing it with the Boss.  The consensus is that RSCs in my price range only offer so much security and the differences probably aren't worth fighting about.  

Things I wanted
- 1 hour fire protection minimum
- decent RSC security
- 60x30x24 footprint
- sold by a solid company
- flexible interior
- price $1200 - $1500  for just the safe/tax  - delivery adds to this significantly

I've narrowed it down to the Liberty Franklin and the Browning Hunter HR-26 (textured charcoal).  Ive done the pros and cons thing and will highlight a few for you.

- Both 11g bodies and composite doors though the Browning has tighter gaps and external hinges which I like.
- Both made in the USA.  
- Both are 60+ minute fire rating, Franklin is 75 minutes but still only has 2 layers in the walls.

- Browning has reinforced door jam/frame for locking bolts, seems sturdier than Liberty's frame which looks a little weak to be honest
- Browning has pry stop reinforcement on the 2 bolts closest to the corners (open side) which look better than Liberty
- Liberty has active bolts on all 4 sides, Bronwing doesn't have bolts on bottom and the hinge side are all fixed.  Haven't been able to determine if fixed bolts are really that bad.
- Liberty has a track record, the Browning Hunter models not so much, at least I can't find many reviews