Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 6/20/2017 6:45:25 PM EDT
Since dogsplats thread got derailed lets try this again. What loads do you use in 10mm for bear defense?

This is not meant to be a hunting type thread but a self preservation one. I'm new to this caliber only obtaining
my G20 this past spring. The only powder I could get my hands on for this cartridge was Power Pistol for now.

Others on different boards have used/suggested 800X, Longshot, Blue Dot, AA#9 etc.

Backround on my personal roscoe-G20 with a 4.6 inch KKM barrel and a 23# RSA.

My worked up load--again, for now. We only have black bears in Pa. so really geared towards yotes.

Bullet-180gr Hornady XTP
Powder-Power Pistol---No grain weight as I'm using non-stock barrel and RSA.
Primer-CCI 350
Case-Virgin Starline---After firing it will be inspected and used for lower power plinkers or tossed for recycle.
Veolcity at 15 feet--1250 avg.

In the future I will work up a cast load also 1 for the 200gr XTP but this is what I have to work with for now.

Soooo  shoot.........
Link Posted: 6/20/2017 8:16:50 PM EDT
[#1]
8.7 power pistol with 180 FMJ  goes 1150 from my Glock 20
Link Posted: 6/20/2017 8:36:24 PM EDT
[#2]
When friend bought a 10mm a couple years ago, he researched it a bit and settled on Longshot powder which I happened to have on hand for 40sw. I was glad to get rid of it. In my G23, recoil was very uncomfortable. He likes it in his 10mm. But he is a bigger guy. Good luck with your search.
Link Posted: 6/20/2017 9:21:39 PM EDT
[#3]
Link Posted: 6/20/2017 11:08:47 PM EDT
[#4]
Link Posted: 6/21/2017 12:00:23 AM EDT
[#5]
10gr longshot with 180gr xtp Hornady. New starline brass Winchester primer.

Warning this is above book max.

My G20 speaks with authority with that load.
Link Posted: 6/21/2017 12:33:27 AM EDT
[#6]