Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 4/24/2014 5:56:16 AM EDT
I want to start reloading for .223 /5.56. Which dies, Full Length or Small Base ? I have been reloading for other calibers for 30 yrs just not that familiar with AR platform. My rifle has NATO chamber, 1/7, 16". Are there any tricks to getting the most accuracy out of this combination...particular bullets...powder /burn rate... Any help appreciated. I will be loading primarily for S.D. and occasional deer /pig. I have on hand a variety of bullets...62 lead core, 62 green tip, 64 bonded, 69 match, 75 Scirroco and 77 match.

Please do not post thread titles in all caps. I fixed it for you.

We don't like to be screamed at. dryflash3
Link Posted: 4/24/2014 6:00:59 AM EDT
[#1]
Link Posted: 4/24/2014 6:03:22 AM EDT
[#2]
I use a Hornady .223 die set for 5.56 and .223 brass in my AR.
Link Posted: 4/24/2014 6:08:17 AM EDT
[#3]
While I have a Dillon press, I like a combo of a Dillon resizing die and Lee Pacesetter bullet seating and crimping dies for my necked rifle calibers (.223/5.56, 30-30, .308, and 30-06).  Why?  The Dillon resizing die's expander ball is carbide which doesn't drag and squeak, even without inside case neck lube, while the Lee resizing die expander is steel Lee and needs lube.  However, the Lee seating die is hand adjustable vice the Dillon one that requires a wrench; something that's handy when using various bullet types. I buy the Dillon resizing die and the Lee Pacesetter die set for less than the Dillon set so it's cheaper too.

BTW, I prefer the Lee Deluxe Carbide 4 Die set for pistol calibers over the Dillon set for much the same reason, both the Lee bullet seating and crimping dies are hand adjustable whereas the Dillons take a wrench.
Link Posted: 4/24/2014 6:19:40 AM EDT
[#4]