Author
Posted: 12/18/2009 2:25:28 PM EST
Hi everyone,

I'm new to the reloading scene and I just started off with reloading .45ACP using a Lee classic loader, and I've come across some issues. Paraphrasing, I reloaded 8 rounds of .45, each with a length of 1.24-1.25" total length. When I tried cycling them through my 1911 (with it pointed in a safe direction, of course), I noticed all of the bullets got seated in deeper into the casing, some dropping to a total length of as short as 1.14".

Are the rounds still safe to shoot even with the bullet jammed in so deep? And is this normal? What can I do to (and should I) prevent this? Thanks in advance.
JedYonkers
Link To This Post
Posted: 12/18/2009 3:17:49 PM EST
You maybe over flaring your case mouths. back the die out a bit and try again . You may also need to adjust the seating die to crimp a little tighter.
The things that will destroy America are prosperity-at-any-price, safety-first instead of duty-first, the love of soft living, and the get-rich-quick theory of life.

~ Theodore Roosevelt 1858-1919

WizzBang07
Link To This Post
Posted: 12/18/2009 3:28:40 PM EST
If the bullets are seated to far into the case, an overpressure can result. It is best to pull those bullets and reload them. I don't know much about pistol reloading but you can probably get a crimp die for 45ACP and lightly crimp the brass around the bullet.
strokethebigtree
Link To This Post
Posted: 12/18/2009 3:45:38 PM EST
I thought it might have been because I didn't crimp the casing like as the instructions said, but the Lee Classic instructions specifically said to not crimp the case on .45ACP. Should I go ahead and crimp them?
1911smith
Link To This Post
Posted: 12/18/2009 3:47:12 PM EST
[Last Edit: 12/18/2009 3:54:19 PM EST by 1911smith]