Author
Si Vis Pacem Para Bellum
Posted: 9/28/2009 5:26:25 AM EST
I need to move up to a progressive reloader.

I have been reloading for about 6 months on the rock chucker (about 1500 rds.) in .45 acp. and I spend way too much time pulling that single stage handle lol.

I`m hoping to get some input on which is a better press the Dillon XL 650 or the Hornady Lock-n-load ap .

While i`m on a budget they are both in my price range and will wait and get the auto case feeder at a later time.

I will mostly be reloading .45 acp

Thanks for any info which can help me decide on which press is best for me.
SamW
Link To This Post
Posted: 9/28/2009 5:27:55 AM EST
Well, the LnL AP has the 1,000 free bullets working in its favor.
wildearp
Simple solutions to complex problems...
Link To This Post
Posted: 9/28/2009 5:50:27 AM EST
Dillon. I have one and reload several calibers from 9mm to .45-70 on my 650.
If you are not living on the edge, you are taking up too much room!
Semper Fi, do or die!
NRA Life Member
SASS Life Member
COSteve
G20L - 10mm Goodness!
Link To This Post
Posted: 9/28/2009 6:00:53 AM EST
I own a 650 w/casefeeder and I recommend it highly. I moved up from a 550B and haven't looked back. Dillon's No BS warranty is legendary and should you decide to sell, their presses hold their value better than any other brand. That said, there are those here who love their LnL AP's just as much.

It seems to me that you should find a place where you can actually check them out in person, cycle the presses, and decide which one suits your needs the best. However, don't even consider not getting the casefeeders with your presses. Save up your $$ for a month or two more and get the casefeeder with whichever you decide on.
“Remember, no matter where you go, there you are.” - Buckaroo Banzai 1984
"When you find a find a big kettle of crazy, it's best not to stir it." - Dilbert 2009
BADZ06
DHS says I'm a terrorist!
Link To This Post
Posted: 9/28/2009 6:25:12 AM EST