Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page Armory » Blades
Site Notices
Posted: 3/19/2017 9:55:22 AM EDT
I need a recommendation for a strop. I have been sharpening my knives myself for the last few years and learning slowly what works. Mostly i get a "OK working edge" but that is about it. So i am a novice but only half oblivious to what i am doing. I would like to get my first strop. I will be using it on knives mostly 3-6" if that matters. Any recomendations?
Link Posted: 3/19/2017 5:43:34 PM EDT
[#1]
I like my strop by the stropman
Link Posted: 3/19/2017 9:25:14 PM EDT
[#2]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
I like my strop by the stropman
View Quote
How do you use a strop?

I've seen it on TV a million times, but I took an older broken men's belt that is slick due to the nice finish and cut it down.  I was moving the blade 'into' the slightly rougher backside, but I kept digging into the leather.  Am I supposed to move the blade in the opposite direction, or was it just too 'slick' for the purpose?

Thanks.

Chris
Link Posted: 3/19/2017 10:17:05 PM EDT
[#3]
Attachment Attached File

Yes the opposite direction.  Push not poll in the photo
Link Posted: 3/20/2017 7:27:41 AM EDT
[#4]
My best recommendation would be to get a good book on sharpening and read it...  Stropping isn't going to do a lot (in a finite period of time) to improve an "OK working edge".

Strops and the like can be found HERE and also HERE.

Best of luck!
Link Posted: 3/20/2017 7:38:48 AM EDT
[#5]
I got my strops from Straight Razor Designs. You can go from mild to wild.

Or, you could go to a leather shop and make one. A little contact cement on a piece of 1x4 oak and a piece of veg tanned leather does just fine for most knives.

It takes practice, but you will get it. I barely notice the difference after using a strop, but I understand the theory of what it's supposed to do anyway.
Link Posted: 3/26/2017 9:14:04 PM EDT
[#6]