Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page Armory » Blades
Posted: 1/8/2016 8:20:52 PM EDT
I have a Spyderco Embassy (auto) that I have had for a couple years now that I sent in for sharpening, etc.

I got a call back from their customer service department saying I had not mailed in the restricted item return form and that I would need to get this to them before they could service the knife.

The form says you have to be military, LEO, etc. to have a "switchblade" and I am neither.

I didn't need special clearance or anything to buy it - it's a fucking pocket knife for shit sake - so I had no idea any of this was required.

A buddy of mine who has experience in this said something to the equivalent of "fill it out and send it in - they don't really give a shit. its just for their records".

Is this true or am I going to have Agent Smith knocking on my door because I "lied" on this form?

Link Posted: 1/8/2016 8:31:12 PM EDT
[#1]
Probably something about liability for them.
Link Posted: 1/8/2016 9:16:04 PM EDT
[#2]
Quoted:
I didn't need special clearance or anything to buy it - it's a fucking pocket knife for shit sake - so I had no idea any of this was required.
View Quote

Not as far as the feds are concerned.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Switchblade#Federal_law
Link Posted: 1/10/2016 7:01:20 PM EDT
[#3]
Ask them if it's possible for them to send it to an authorized dealer.
Link Posted: 1/10/2016 8:02:07 PM EDT
[#4]
They're being dicks about it after the government has been dicks to them.  US Customs fined them $75,000 for mailing butterfly knives back in 2007.  Your tax dollars at work.
Link Posted: 1/10/2016 10:14:14 PM EDT
[#5]
Maybe they can return it to you with the spring(s) removed?
Link Posted: 1/11/2016 9:32:49 PM EDT
[#6]
Have them return it to you and sharpen the damn thing yourself.
Link Posted: 1/12/2016 1:30:29 PM EDT
[#7]