Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 2
Posted: 6/29/2015 2:48:17 AM EDT
I recently acquired a factory FN M240B. That gun will be my shooter 240.

I also made an even rarer acquisition: a second factory FN M240B, unfired, that is the 0 gun ('0' being the last number in the SN string).

Here I am holding the receiver. It was quite an experience to hold it. It currently sits in NFA jail. The registered part is the side plate, on the other side. It just began pending form 4.

Here is the original box that the 240 came in. It was necessary to open the box to verify the SN on the gun. My dealer kept the receiver.

Tonight, I unwrapped the box. This is my first time ever opening and unwrapping an M240, so I thought I would take pics and share them.

Barrel

Top cover. Upon handling the top cover, my first thought was, 'it's so small.'

So I compared it to my M60E6s top cover. Surprisingly, the M240 has a larger top cover.

Bolt and op rod assembly.

Trigger assembly

Looks like an ammo carrier. Too small to hold 100, probably holds 50.

Bipod (which I shall never use)

Buttstock. Check out the cool curves.

This is my other M240B. It is also in NFA jail.

Link Posted: 6/29/2015 3:09:10 AM EDT
[#1]
Very nice machinegun.  Listening to veterans speak of machineguns, sometimes I wonder if it's not the mechanism or the specific mechanics of a gun that gets it replaced, or makes it the replacement, but the age of the original gun.

IE, M60 replaces M1919, replaced in turn by the M240.  Was the M240 that much a better gun than the M60, or were the M60s just worn out?

FYI, you've posted your pics in a public forum that is available to anyone whether they're registered or not, and all they have to do to repost your photos is to right click, select Copy Image Location, and post that address anywhere on the internet.
Link Posted: 6/29/2015 3:15:49 AM EDT
[#2]