Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 8/11/2014 1:12:26 PM EDT
Background: I will be receiving a fairly large inheritance in the future and have been toying with the idea of buying and arming an armored car. For the record i have very little debt and my wife and i make good salaries so I can pretty much do whatever i want with this money, so please no lectures on my finances or how to invest.

Budget: About $50k total. Assuming $30k for the vehicle leaves $20k for the main gun and the coaxial rifle (probably a semi-auto m1919 and upgrade to a full-auto later)

Vehicle: FV721 Fox Armored Car

What options do i have for cannons in the 20-30mm range?

The Fox comes with a 30mm Rarden Auto cannon but when the UK sold these off they demilitarized the cannons so its basically a 30mm pipe sticking out of the turret. Im an Engineer and am pretty good at designing and building things but building a 30mm auto cannon is beyond my capabilities and would prefer to buy and mount a existing cannon. I considered going with a 50cal M2 BMG but at $30k+ for a transferable full-auto its out of my budget and i would rather buy a semi-auto large bore cannon that can be registered as a DD.

If possible i would prefer semi-auto but a single shot is fine, it also needs to have ammo that is fairly easy to find, no point in having a cannon if you cant find ammo for it. The only cannon Ive come across thus far that seems like a decent fit would be the 20x102mm Anzio for around $13k, its bolt action but mag fed. Practice ammo can be found for around $10-15 a round and AP and Sabot ammo can be had for around $50+.
Link Posted: 8/11/2014 3:03:26 PM EDT
[#1]