Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 2/8/2016 9:22:00 AM EDT
I tried a SilencerCo Omega (7.62 can) on my 10.5" AR in 5.56 this weekend and it was defenately not hearing safe. I should mention I was using the 7.62 end cap, but I doubt the .22 end cap would make it hearing safe.

Are there any cans that can make a 5.56 with this short of a barrel hearing safe? Should I be looking at a Specwar in 5.56? All the suppressor db measurements I've seen are with 16" rifles, so I'm having a hard time finding this info.
Link Posted: 2/8/2016 9:32:08 AM EDT
[#1]
I'm pretty sure that none of the centerfire rifles will be hearing safe, and especially on a short barrel.
I think the Specwar is supposed to be quietest (or one of the quietest). I would use a Specwar 7.62 can as the larger volume should make it quieter than a 5.56 can (I'm no expert, but I can't imagine the endcap would matter much).  The Harvester (per SilencerCo site) would be quieter and lighter than the specwar.

Harvester 134.9
Specwar 762 130.2
Specwar 556 130.2 (Hmm, interesting, looks like same rating in 5.56 between the two Specwars, if true the 556 would be lighter and shorter...)
Link Posted: 2/8/2016 9:32:22 AM EDT
[#2]
Quoted:
I tried a SilencerCo Omega (7.62 can) on my 10.5" AR in 5.56 this weekend and it was defenately not hearing safe. I should mention I was using the 7.62 end cap, but I doubt the .22 end cap would make it hearing safe.

Are there any cans that can make a 5.56 with this short of a barrel hearing safe? Should I be looking at a Specwar in 5.56? All the suppressor db measurements I've seen are with 16" rifles, so I'm having a hard time finding this info.
View Quote

Nope.

The specwar762 is probably still "quietest" with that setup, but any 5.56 can (especially an SBR) will need hearing protection.

ETA: Beat by 14 seconds.
Link Posted: 2/8/2016 10:31:10 AM EDT
[#3]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History