Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 1/11/2002 3:03:25 PM EDT
Hi Everyone,

I am new to AR-15's and is interested in building an 24" Target/Varminter type AR-15 rifle for accuracy.  I have a stripped lower receiver and will need a complete kit.  My question is if I should go with the Bushmaster Varminter (everything but the stripped lower) or should I get a Wilson 24" SS fluted barrel + RRA parts & 2 stage jeweled trigger?

I want something that is reliable and accurate.  I have heard good things about Bushmaster and RRA but don't know what the "ultimate" 24" target/varminter type AR-15 combo would be.  I am also looking at the J&T 24" kit.  Any idea which option would be best?  

Here are some of the options that I would like to have:  

24" fluted barrel (1x9 twist? Bushmaster or Wilson barrel?)
Floating handguard
A3 Flat Top
Jeweled Trigger (RRA or Georgia Arms?)
Harris bi-pod
Tactical grip?

Thanks for the help in advance.

George
Link Posted: 1/11/2002 5:43:08 PM EDT
[#1]
Is the varminter barrel cromed?
I think all bushmasters are exept the DCM model.

I prefer crome-lined, but for max accuracy you should go stainless or crome-moly.
The rest sounds good, I would wait on the bipod. I like mine, but lots of people don't like them.
Try the rfle without it and then if you fell like you need it, get one.

Edited to say J&T has a nice kit for about $850 that has everything you might want.
Link Posted: 1/11/2002 7:29:39 PM EDT
[#2]
I will be buying the bushy as soon as I dig up enough bones.
Link Posted: 1/12/2002 10:24:52 PM EDT
[#3]
Thanks for the help guys.  I really like the Bushmaster Varminter, I think it is chrom moly steel barrel but I don't know about the chrom-lining?