Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 11/1/2001 2:31:15 PM EDT
I am able to get a pretty good deal on the Ruger Mini 14 or Mini-30...What do you guys think about the rifle? I was leaning towards the 7.62 but have not ruled out the .223...all comments welcomed...Thanks..
Link Posted: 11/1/2001 2:37:57 PM EDT
[#1]
Do a search for that weapon on these boards, you'll find your answer. Save up and buy an AR15, there's a reason they're more than double the price of a mini.
Link Posted: 11/1/2001 2:41:59 PM EDT
[#2]
If you want a 7.62 rifle get a SKS or a AK  type rifle....  .223? invest $100-200 more and buy an AR mini's are not worth the $$$
Link Posted: 11/1/2001 2:42:05 PM EDT
[#3]
I have a Bushmaster...Was just thinking of getting something new...Maybe Ill just get another Bushy...
Link Posted: 11/1/2001 2:45:24 PM EDT
[#4]
Good plan.
Link Posted: 11/1/2001 2:46:30 PM EDT
[#5]
Glad I came here first...seems like it would have been a bad idea to get the mini...
Link Posted: 11/1/2001 3:14:12 PM EDT
[#6]
My best buddy, aka, Prospector, is an avid defender of the Mini-14, yet is trying in vain to find an ammo that shoots better than MOT (minute of torso)...
I think the best he'll ever get is going to be MOPOC (minute of pack of cigarettes).

That being said, I've sworn to him that if he gets an AR15, I'll get a Mini-14.  You know, all that "buddy stuff" about having like guns, etc.

I, on the other hand, will only expect the Mini-14 to be what it is, a close range lightweight firearm, rather than spend a ton of $$$ trying to make it a target shooter.  The Mini reminds me of the 1911 in that the basic platform is great, only you must dump more into it to get the performance you want out of it, or spend a lot on one (either above mentioned gun) that's tweaked already.

Personally, I think two AR's are worth the expenditure.  You buy one half at a time, if you want to stretch the budget...