Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 7/5/2015 11:30:58 AM EDT
So not to have my other thread go in a new direction I wanted to start this one.  I thought the General Firearm Discussion forum would also be the best place for it.  Not sure if this has been brought up before and wanted a good discussion on it.

Disclaimer: I am not a lawyer and this thread is not intended to give out legal advice. I do not have the time or money to proceed with this in any way.  It’s just a thought I had, and wanted to see what you all think. I will also like to apologize for any grammar and spelling mistakes.  I blame the FL school system .

Issue: 922(r), in a nut shell, is that an imported rifle cannot be made with more then 10 of these imported items.  You can keep 10 but everything else has to be from the US. (f@#$%^g Stupid!)

(1) Frames, receivers, receiver castings, forgings or stampings

(2) Barrels

(3) Barrel extensions

(4) Mounting blocks (trunions)

(5) Muzzle attachments

(6) Bolts

(7) Bolt carriers

(8) Operating rods

(9) Gas pistons

(10) Trigger housings

(11) Triggers

(12) Hammers

(13) Sears

(14) Disconnectors

(15) Butt stocks

(16) Pistol grips

(17) Forearms, hand guards

(18) Magazine bodies

(19) Followers

(20) Floorplates

Topic: By modifying an item, does it make it, manufactured in the place that it was modified at?

In my option, the ATF has already answer this for us, and the answer is "YES”. Follow my logic here for a bit.

In order to SBR any gun, you need to send in the paper work and get a stamp.  At that time, you have to engrave the receiver with your name or trust name, city, and state, because you manufactured the SBR.

The fact is you don’t have to do anything more they modified the design, and not make a darn thing in order to be the manufacture.